Thorsten von Overgaard's Photography Website
  Get Newsletter & Free eBook  

 
 
Leica SL Typ 601 vs. Sony A7II for wildlife photography
      Thosten von Overgaard on Facebook Thorsten von Overgaard on Twitter Thorsten von Overgaard on Instagram Thorsten von Overgaard on Leica Fotopark Thorsten von Overgaard on LinkedIn Thorsten von Overgaard on Flickr Thorsten Overgaard on YouTube Thorsten Overgaard video on Vimeo Thorsten Overgaard on Tumblr Thorsten von Overgaard on 500px  
leica.overgaard.dk    
Leica SL Typ 601 "Max"
 
A portrait of a Ferruginous Hawk that had been rescued after an injury. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm APO-Telyt-R f/4.0. © 2008-2016 Douglas Herr.
   
 
   

Leica SL Typ 601 - Page 5

Index of Thorsten von Overgaard's user review pages covering Leica M9, Leica M9-P, M-E, Leica M10,
Leica M 240, Leica M-D 262, Leica M Monochrom, M 246  as well as Leica Q and Leica SL:

Leica Digital Camera Reviews by Thorsten Overgaard
Leica M9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20   M9-P
Leica M10
V 1 2 3 4 5                         M10-R M10-P
Leica M 240
P 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44        
Leica M-D 262 1 2                                  
M Monochrom 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
                 
Leica TL2 1 2                                      
Leica SL / SL2 1 2 3 4 5 6                            
Leica Q 1                                          
Leica Q2 1                                          
Leica CL 1 2                                       Books

 

The Birdman of Sacramento takes on the Leica SL Typ 601

By: Thorsten Overgaard. June 27, 2016. Latest edit on July 12, 2016.

Add to Flipboard Magazine.

 

Douglas Herr is well known amongst us who used to use the Leica R system back when it was slide film and when the DMR Digital Back came out (with a 10MP CCD-sensormade, made by Leica Camera AG with Imacon and Kodak)


Caribou, Denali National Park, Alaska. Leicaflex with Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 on film. © 1981-2016 Douglas Herr.
35 years ago: Caribou, Denali National Park, Alaska. Leicaflex with Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 on film. © 1981-2016 Douglas Herr.

 

     
 

Introduction

Douglas Herr is my personal hero and foundation for everything Leica R. He so much symbolizes the core Leica R user that he would be the first person to ask what he thought of the Leica SL system.

When I realized Leica Camera AG didn’t send him a Leica SL to test, I decided to send him my own Leica SL for some months.

“Go nuts with it, and don’t be the slightest worried about banging it up. It’s already well used and has marks. It’s been in rain, snow, heat and sand,” I told him back in February.

When the camera returned after four months, I was eager to learn what his take was on it. I asked if he would care to write an article, and here it is.

Enjoy!

 
 

- Thorsten Overgaard

 

 

 

 

The Leica SL vs. the Sony A7II for wildlife photography

By: Douglas Herr. June 27, 2016.

 

I’ve had the good fortune to spend some quality time with Thorsten’s Leica SL Type 601 and compare it with my current camera, the Sony a7II. 

Selective reading of the two cameras’ spec sheets might suggest they’re quite similar: 24 MP, Electronic ViewFinder (EVF) and the fact that many lenses from legacy camera systems can be adapted to fit. However after several months comparing the two cameras they’re clearly very different.

 

     
 
 
     
Steller's Jay (Cyanocitta stelleri), Washoe County, Nevada. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-Telyt-R f/6.8 and Leica APO-Extender-R 1.4X. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr. 

 

Background

I feel it’s important to understand the reviewer when reading an equipment review. My primary photographic subjects are wildlife and I prefer to avoid automation whenever practical: I use manual exposure modes and manual focus exclusively. Call it a quirk; call it insanity, that’s how I use a camera. 

If you would like to see how this all works for me visit my website www.wildlightphoto.com.

 

Wildlife lenses

The lenses I currently use were made by Canon (Canon FD 500mm f/4.5 L and Canon FD 300mm f/4.0 L), Nikon (Nikkor 55mm f/3.5 Micro-Nikko AI) and Leica (Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R, Leica 100mm f/2.8 APO-Macro-Elmarit-R and Leica 60mm f/2.8 Macro-Elmarit-R).

The camera body is basically a digital back for my lenses. The minimum I require of it is a good viewfinder, a good sensor and a means to set exposure and focus. Mirrorless cameras such as the Sony a7-series and the Leica SL fit these requirements quite well. I began using the Sony a7II about a year ago after 45 years with SLR cameras.

The Electronic ViewFinder (EVF) took some getting used to but now I wouldn’t go back to an SLR. 

There’s never any calibration discrepancy between the image viewing and focusing plane or the image capture plane (the film or sensor).

The viewfinder brightness can compensate for ambient light and lens aperture, the EVF can be configured to show a live histogram, and all of my lenses can be used on the one and same camera by using simple adapters.

My previous camera was the Leica R8 with the Digital-Module-R (DMR), which was first available in 2005. It served me well but it had put on a lot of weight (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it). The batteries had been unavailable for quite some time and I had nightmares about dropping one off a cliff or in a lake, the 10MP sensor’s linear resolution was beginning to limit the market ability of my photos to clients who expect more, and only my Leica lenses were fully usable on it.

 


   
  Ash-throated Flycatcher, Sacramento County California. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-telyt-R f/6.8. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Ash-throated Flycatcher, Sacramento County California. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-telyt-R f/6.8. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr.

 

My general impressions of the Leica SL

The Leica SL is a very solid, well-made camera. It's significantly heavier than the a7II, but it fits the hand extremely well. Especially when wearing gloves (which I cannot say for the a7II).

The viewfinder is outstanding, with one complaint, which I'll get to. The camera overall is very responsive and reasonably quiet. The files have rich full colors and will take a lot of abuse without falling apart. The noise at higher ISO settings is manageable. And by the way, the noise pattern, unlike the Sony a7II, is quite pleasing.

The Sony a7II is a sturdy, reliable camera. The Leica SL is in an entirely different class of construction: It will take a beating that would destroy many other cameras, and it would still get up next morning and work like it was nobody’s business.

The SL has simple, purposeful controls. The thumb joystick is delightful (but user-programmability of its acceleration function would improve it) and the other buttons, dials and such are readily at hand when needed and they stay out of the way when not needed. Very impressive!

 

 

Testing the Leica SL 601 camera

My test photos are not intended to demonstrate the camera's artistic sensibilities. I'm just testing technical performance.

One of the Leica DMR's strengths is the robustness of the raw files, their ability to be manipulated, stomped on and tortured and not whimper. Pulling detail out of shadows is one of my tests; this robustness of the 10MP Leica DMR files saved my butt on more than one occasion, for example:



   
  Leporidae. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Leporidae. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I enlisted the hummingbirds in my yard in the test and made some backlit photos exposed for highlights, then used Adobe Camera Raw's 'fill light' function to bring up the color and detail of the bird's gorget (the red feathers). Here's how the Leica SL did (cropped to about 1/3 of the original file):

 


   
  Anna's Hummingbird. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Anna's Hummingbird. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I'm impressed.

 

Camera responsiveness - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

Responsiveness is another test. My Sony a7II is quite responsive when I enable the electronic first curtain feature, but with my non-native lenses this feature's practical utility is limited to shutter speeds not faster than 1/1000 sec.

To test the Leica SL I used the Ruby-crowned Kinglet that has taken a liking to my hummingbird feeder. Kinglets are hyperactive bits of fluff and this particular kinglet was jumping from a twig, fluttering up to the feeder for a sip then back to the twig. The entire process takes less than a second.

I wanted to see how much total lag there was between the viewfinder, my reaction timing, and the shutter lag. I pre-focused on the feeder tube and watched the viewfinder, pressing the shutter release when the bird entered the image area. The camera is in single-shot drive mode, and no crop:

 


   
  Ruby-crowned Kinglet. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Ruby-crowned Kinglet. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I'm impressed.

 

Real-time exposure feedback - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

So now I get to the 0.5% that I'm not thrilled with. The camera's viewfinder defaults to automatic brightness mode, with 'exposure simulation' mode enabled with a half-press of the shutter release or by pressing the exposure simulation mode button on the front of the camera. The viewfinder reverts to the default automatic brightness mode after each exposure.

What were they thinking? One of the really huge advantages of the EVF is real-time exposure feedback. Automatic viewfinder brightness in these scenarios makes the bird go so dark I can't see any detail for focusing or for catching the desired posture:

 


   
  Vermilion Flycatcher. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Vermilion Flycatcher. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Red-shouldered Hawk. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Red-shouldered Hawk. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

It makes the bird go alternately too bright or too dark when I shift the camera's field of view left or right:

 


   
  Red-breasted Sapsucker. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Red-breasted Sapsucker. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Very distracting, breaks my concentration, makes focusing and seeing what the bird is doing very difficult. In polite company I'd call the automatic viewfinder brightness feature an 'epic fail'. It can't be disabled. It can be turned off in the Leica M 240, so why not the Leica SL? 

Re-enabling the exposure preview mode after every exposure reminds me of the days before SLRs had instant-return mirrors. This one feature is a deal-breaker for me.

I've set up the Sony a7II for full-time exposure preview (Sony calls it Setting Effect: ON). This way I can use the entire viewfinder as an exposure meter in manual mode. It makes spot, full-field and matrix modes look like primitive relics of obsolete technology, and IMHO is among the really big advantages of an EVF.

Leica needs to do a firmware update to fix a few other issues, so I hope they fix this and SOON! Needless to say I've e-mailed Leica about this feature.

 

Stabilization - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

My other big complaint about the SL is that there is no sensor stabilization.

I'm smitten with the Sony a7II's sensor stabilization. I can use any of my old, affordable lenses, as well as the spectacular Leica-R APO lenses, stabilized. It's allowed me to push a lot of boundaries while my muscles have weakened with age and abuse, and are no longer as steady as they used to be.

For example in good light, when I use a big Series 5 Gitzo tripod, my Canon FD 500mm L is brilliant on the Leica SL.

Gorgeous colors, easy to focus, and with software correction for lateral chromatic aberration it's sharp, sharp, sharp, sharp, sharp!

 


   
  Green-winged Teal. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Green-winged Teal. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

On the other hand, using the lens on the Sony a7II, I can brace the lens against my truck's window frame in dim rainy light with wind shaking the truck and the images are nearly as good as with the Leica SL in good light on the Gitzo tripod.

The Sony's colors aren't as rich, the files don't take as much abuse, but they're sharp in conditions that don't work for the Leica SL.

 


   
  Northern Harrier. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Northern Harrier. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Leica SL high ISO

I can partially compensate with the Leica SL's excellent high-ISO capabilities (ISO 3200 in this case), which allow me to use a faster shutter speed. This is about 1/4 of the original 24MP image:

 


   
 
 
     

Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

This is a 100% crop of the file with no sharpening, re-sizing or noise reduction:

 


   
  Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

100% crop of the file, Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I invite you to draw your own conclusions, but to my eye the noise pattern in the SL's files is much more pleasing than in the Sony a7II's files at the same ISO.

On the other hand ... the Sony's stabilization makes magnified focusing with the 500mm lens much easier, and using fast shutter speeds on the SL reduces my options for using a slower shutter speed to show rain streaks like I can with the Sony (i.e., the Northern Harrier photo above).

 

         
 

Buy the new eBook
"A Little Book on Photography"
by Thorsten von Overgaard

 
         
 

A Little Book on Photography by Thorsten von Overgaard eBook

Order now - Instant delivery.

More info

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

 

It's a humorous understatement to call this
new eBook by Thorsten Overgaard for
"A Little Book on Photography".
It's a grand book, a history lesson, life experience, a biography and poetry book and brilliant photo book!
All in one beautiful package of 180 pages
to fire you up and get you to love
photography ... unconditionally!

"A Little Book on Photography"
eBook for computer, Kindle and iPad.
New release March 2017.
Intro price only $47 - 180 pages.

     
 

Buy Now

Add to Cart

Instant Delivery

 
     

View Cart

 
 

 

 
     
 
     
 

 

 

 

 

Colusa National Wildlife Refuge

I visited Colusa National Wildlife Refuge, north of Sacramento, a target-rich environment. I didn't expect great art from this day's photography so I was not disappointed. I wanted to see how the Leica SL's raw files looked in a context I was familiar with when using the Leica R8 with DMR and the Sony a7II.

In a nutshell, I'm delighted with the raw files. Aside from conversion from .DNG to .jpg, all I did was use a Photoshop curves layer to adjust black point and (infrequently) white point. That's all.

The colors are rich and full with excellent gradation.

Details: I used the Canon FD 500mm L at f/5.6, ISO 400. Manual focus without magnification (is not difficult), and in challenging cases magnification is available at the touch of a button. I'd like to see a firmware update to enable two-step magnification on the joystick, like the bottom left button on the Leica SL has.

The first magnification step is usually more than sufficient for critical manual focus and is easier to track a moving target.

The pictures:

 


   
 
 
     

Green-winged Teal, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge.Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Coot, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge (full detail in blacks and no highlight clipping with full sunlight, a first for this bird!). Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Coot, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge (full detail in blacks and no highlight clipping with full sunlight, a first for this bird!). Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Greater White-fronted Goose, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Greater White-fronted Goose, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Adapter stack and shading

The adapter stack (Canon FD > Leica M and Leica M > Leica SL) causes some corner shading when using a long lens like this Canon 500mm L and with R long-focus lenses like the Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 and the Leica 560mm Telyt-R f/6.8.

The small diameter of the M mount in the middle of this stack is the culprit. This was a problem long before the Leica SL when using Leitz Visoflex-mount Telyts on Leica R cameras. I expect the promised R Adapter SL will solve this problem by eliminating the M mount.

 

Leica 180mm APO-Telyt-R f/3.4 on the Leica SL Type 601
Leica 180mm APO-Telyt-R f/3.4 on the Leica SL Type 601 via Leica T/SL to M adapter and Leica M to R adapter. © Thorsten Overgaard 2015-2016.

 

 

What the Leica SL can do that Sony can't touch

The Leica SL camera is quick and responsive at all shutter speeds. For those who were writing software in the 1980s it’s like the difference between optimized assembly language and interpreted BASIC.

I can make the Sony a7II adequately responsive by enabling electronic first shutter curtain but with my adapted mechanical lenses it's good only up to 1/1000 sec.

At faster shutter speeds in this mode the Sony produces uneven exposures. The Leica SL is quick, quiet and responsive at every shutter speed. The Sony’s electronic first shutter curtain function can be switched on or off only by diving into the inscrutable menus. It can’t be assigned to a function button.

 

Lightroom Survival Kit

 

The Leica SL's LCD doesn't show nose prints. I deliberately tried to make nose prints. Couldn't do it.

There are numerous little differences that come down to personal preferences, for example the Leica SL allows me to change shutter speeds while in magnified view, with a dial that's almost a real shutter speed dial.

The Sony's dial moves the magnified box. The Leica SL allows the user to change the ‘direction’ of the shutter speed and aperture controls. The Sony allows the user to choose which dial performs either function.

The Sony leaves a lot more stuff in my wallet. Aside from the purchase price, spare batteries don't cost $250 each and I can walk into an electronics retailer like Fry's to buy them.

I'm struck by a comparison of the Sony a7II with the Canon FD 300mm f/4 L and the Leica SL with the 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R.

 

The TIE HER UP "Rock'n'Roll Chain" black leather strap for the Leica SL that comes in 100cm and 125cm length.
The TIE HER UP "Rock'n'Roll Chain" black leather strap for the Leica SL that comes in 100cm and 125cm length.


Either lens can be used on either camera but this is an extreme for illustrative purposes: The Sony a7II with the Canon FD 300 L is a decent camera; the lens today (with digital image processing not available in 1990), is better than when it was new. It's not a Leica APO-Telyt, but quite good. The Sony a7II with Canon 300L is about 2 kg (4 pounds). The Leica SL with Leica 280mm APO f/4.0 is about 3 kg, 50% heavier than the Sony a7II combo. 

Did I mention the Sony leaves a lot more stuff in my wallet? There's an order of magnitude difference in the entry ticket. An order of magnitude!

Is there an order of magnitude difference in the output? An order of magnitude difference in image sales potential?

 

 

Given the dismal sales lately for photography I'd have to answer an emphatic NO to the last question (i.e., zero X 10 still equals zero), which leaves the subjective and unquantifiable differences.

Not to mention being able to say "oh shucks" and head over to eBay if I drop the camera in the ocean instead of panicking about the expense of repairs and the months of downtime as I do when my beloved Leica 280mm f/4 APO develops a sticky aperture.

Both of these cameras have numerous capabilities that I haven't begun to try, but for my uses the Leica SL isn't quite "there", and I say this as a Leica user for the last 35 years.

A firmware update with an option to make the 'exposure preview' mode sticky would be a serious threat to my wallet; with this firmware update and a hardware upgrade with a stabilized sensor … resistance would be futile.

 

My Conclusion

For a first-generation product it's outstanding and with the two fixes I've mentioned I'd be ecstatic. 

As it is when I grab a camera to head out the door it's most likely the Sony a7II for the lower weight, the stabilized sensor, the exposure preview viewfinder and the much lower worry about loss or damage. And I’ll put up with the fiddly buttons and inscrutable menus, and curse the 1/1000 sec shutter speed limit on my way out the door.

For those using any of the auto-exposure modes and either of the Leica SL's two excellent native lenses, the biggest obstacle to loving this camera could be the initial cash outlay. Once my two objections are fixed I’d put up with the weight and find a way to make it happen.

 

– Douglas Herr
wildlightphoto.com

 

     
 

Order prints from Douglas Herr to decorate your house or office and impress your younger nephews or grandchildren with some real wildlife: http://www.wildlightphoto.com/ordering.html  

 
     


Leica SL vs. Sony a7II retail prices

Leica SL Typ 601 - $7,450 from BH PHOTO / Amazon 

Sony a7II $1,698 from BH PHOTO / Amazon

 

Was ist das?

What are the different Leica SL buttons and symbols for?

Bayonet lock and red dot

There is a bayonet un-lock button on the Leica SL that is pressed to release the lens or adapter.

If an adapter is attached, that too has a silver button that is pressed to release the lens from the adapter.

The Leica lenses all have a red dot on them. It has to be positioned so that it "meets" the silver button on the camera or adaptor, then turn the lens clockwise till it locks.

When using one or two adaptors on the camera you will likely press the wrong button a few times but then you will get the hang of it.

 
     

ROM contacts on the lenses

The metal contacts inside the bayonet of the Leica SL and Leica T lenses and the adapters are for communication with the camera. For Leica T and Leica SL lenses they power the aperture and the autofocus motor inside the lens from the camera battery, and in the case of T and SL lenses they tell the camera the focus distance and zoom position as well. In all lens combinations they supply the camera with info about which lens is used.

For Leica M lenses there is no AF and there is no info about the aperture going to the camera. For Leica R lenses it is (un-)likely that the R lenses with ROM contacts will give info to the Leica SL about which lens is attached. We will know when that adapter is available in 2016.

 
     

ROM contacts in the Leica SL

Inside the bayonet of the Leica SL is the contacts to communicate with the lens' or adapter's contacts.

And yes, that is the sensor you see below and behind it. It is unprotected like this, though it has a glass surface.

When you release the shutter, a shutter curtain will go over the sensor and back in hiding again; after it has cleaned the sensor for digital signals and made the sensor ready to record the next picture.

 
     

The strap lug

The strap lug on the Leica SL has a square shape and doesn't take metal rings as the Leica M and other cameras. It has to be a nylon strap or leather strap that goes around it.

 
     

The diopter adjustment

You can turn the diopter on the viewfinder to adjust to your eyesight.

The GPS unit

To the left of the top of the camera is the plastic roof that seals the GPS unit. It needs a plastic roof to be able to communicate with the satellites.

Stereo microphone

The two sets of four small holes on top of the camera are the stereo microphones for video.

 
     

The rubber thing in the bottom

The soft rubber field under the camera is not GPS or WiFi. The rubber seals the contacts that are used when the battery handgrip is attached.

 
     

The rubber thing on the side

This is not a handgrip but a rubber cover of the contacts for HDMI, remote control, USB3 and external sound recorder.

 
     

The scan code and two holes

The screw mount hole in the bottom of the Leica SL 601 is for attaching it to a tripod, and the other hole is for keeping the camera firmly in place on the tripod so it doesn't rotate.

This plate also contains the serial number as well as a scan bar that can't be read by the iPhone. It is likely for factory internal use.

 
     

The rubber ring on the battery

The Leica SL batteries have a rubber band that is for weather-sealing the camera in that department as well. The rubber ring feels loose when your finger moves over it, but is actually pretty well attached to the battery.

 
     

 

 

Leica SL 601 Specifications:

Leica SL 601 Imaging Specifications:
Lens Mount Leica L
Camera Format Full-Frame (1x Crop Factor)
Pixels Effective: 24 Megapixel
Maximum Resolution 6000 x 4000
Aspect Ratio 3:2
Sensor Type CMOS
Sensor Size 24 x 36 mm
Image File Format DNG, JPEG
Bit Depth 14-Bit
Image Stabilization None

Leica SL Exposure Control Specifications:

ISO Sensitivity Auto, 50 to 50000
Shutter Speed Mechanical Shutter
1/8000 to 60 Seconds 
Mechanical Shutter
0 to 30 Minutes in Time Mode 
Bulb Mode 
Metering Method Center-Weighted Average, Multi-Zone, Spot
Exposure Modes Aperture Priority, Manual, Program, Shutter Priority
Exposure Compensation -3 to +3 EV (1/3, 1/2 EV Steps)
White Balance Auto, Cloudy, Daylight, Flash, Fluorescent (Cool White), Fluorescent (Warm White), Manual, Shade, Tungsten
Continuous Shooting Up to 11 fps at 24 MP for up to 33 Frames (JPEG)
Interval Recording Yes
Self-Timer 2/12-Second Delay

Leica SL 601 Video Specifications:

Recording Modes MOV
DCI 4K (4096 x 2160) at 24.00p 
UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 24.00p/25p/29.97p 
Full HD (1920 x 1080) at 24.00p/25p/29.97p/50p/59.94p/100p/119.88p 
HD (1280 x 720) at 24.00p/25p/29.97p/50p/59.94p/100p/119.88p 
External Recording Modes 4:2:2 10-Bit
DCI 4K (4096 x 2160)
Recording Limit Up to 29 Minutes
Audio Recording Built-In Microphone (Stereo)
External Microphone Input

Leica SL 601 Focus Specifications:

Focus Type Auto and Manual Focus
Focus Mode Continuous-Servo AF (C), Manual Focus (M), Single-Servo AF (S), Touch AF & Shutter
Autofocus Points Contrast Detection: 49

Leica SL 601 Viewfinder and Monitor Specifications:

Viewfinder Type Electronic
Viewfinder Size 0.66"
Viewfinder Resolution 4,400,000 Dot
Viewfinder Eye Point 20 mm
Viewfinder Coverage 100%
Viewfinder Magnification Approx. 0.8x
Diopter Adjustment -4 to +2
Monitor Size 2.95"
Monitor Resolution 1,040,000 Dot
Monitor Type Fixed Touchscreen LED

Leica SL 601 Flash Specifications:

Built-In Flash No
Flash Modes Manual, TTL Auto
Maximum Sync Speed 1/250 Second
Dedicated Flash System TTL
External Flash Connection Hot Shoe, PC Terminal

Leica SL 601 Interface Specifications:

Memory Card Slot Slot 1: SD/SDHC/SDXC (UHS-II)
Slot 2: SD/SDHC/SDXC (UHS-I)
Internal Memory None
Connectivity 3.5mm Headphone, 3.5mm Microphone, HDMI A (Full Size), USB Micro-B (USB 3.0), PC Sync Socket
Wireless Wi-Fi
GPS Yes

Leica SL 601 Environmental Specifications:

Operating Temperature 32 to 104°F / 0 to 40°C
Operating Humidity 0 to 85%

Leica SL 601 Physical Specifications:

Battery 1 x BP-SCL4 Rechargeable Lithium-Ion, 8.4 VDC, 1860 mAh
Dimensions (W x H x D) 5.8 x 4.1 x 1.5" / 147 x 104 x 39 mm
Weight 1.86 lb / 847 g (Body with Battery)

Leica SL 601 Packaging Specifications:

Package Weight 5.53 lb
Box Dimensions (LxWxH) 14.25 x 10.05 x 7.9"

To be continued ...

Sign up for my free newsletter to stay in the loop for more on the Leica SL.

 
 

 

 

 

Reviews of the Leica SL Typ 601

Sean Reid Reviews: "Leica SL 601" (as of October 20, 2015).
Jono Slack: "Field Report (Three Weeks in Creta" (at GetDPI as of October 20, 2015).
Ming Thein: "The 2015 Leica SL (Typ 601) and lenses" (as of Oct 20, 2015).
Kristian Dowling: "Leica SL (Typ 601) Professional Mirrorless Camera Review" (as of Oct 20, 2015).
DPreview: "Hands-on with Leica SL (Typ 601)" (as of October 20, 2015).
CNET: "Review" (as of October 20, 2015)
PC Mag: "Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
British Journal of Photography: "Full Specs" (as of Oct 20, 2015)
Nick Rains: Review (as of October 20, 2015).
PetaPixel: "Mirrorless War" (as of October 20, 2015).
Sean Reid Reviews: "Leica M and R on Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Steve Huff: "My thoughts on the Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Jay Cassario: "Leica SL at weddings" (as of October 20, 2015).
Amateur Photographer: "Interview with Stephan Schulz on the Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Luminous Landscape: "What It Is and What It Isn’t" (as of October 22, 2015).
Husam Mneimneh: "The Real Competitor" (as of October 22, 2015)
Sean Reid "Some Thoughts on the new Leica SL" (as of October 22, 2015)
Erwin Puts: "The New Leica SL" (as of October 22, 2015)
Sean Reid: "35 mm rangefinder lenses on Leica SL and Leica M 240" (as of Oct 26, 2015)
DPReview: "Studio tests and samples: Leica SL (beta)" (as of October 28, 2015)
ClubSNAP: "Interview with Andreas Kaufmann and Oliver Kaltner" (as of October 28, 2015)
Sean Reid "Leica SL and Leica M 240 with Leica 35/1.4 Summilux-R and the Leitz Wetzlar 28/2.8 Elmarit-R" (as of November 16, 2015)
Steve Huff: "Leica SL Hands On - Video and More" (as of November 17, 2015).
Kristian Dowling: "Leica SL (Typ 601) One Month User Experience" (as of November 22, 2015).
Erwin Puts: "First of three articles on the Leica SL Type 601" (as of November 26, 2015).
Jono Slack: "The Leica SL - A Field report"
Jono Slack: "Leica SL in Venice"
Erwin Puts: "The Leica SL, part 2" (as of December 2015 on ISO speed and dynamic range)
Joeri van der Kloet: "The Leica SL review" (as of December 19, 2015)
grEGORY simpson - Ultrasomething: "Camera Season - The Leica SL" (as of January 1, 2016)
BH Photo: "Mirrorless Unleashed" (With comments on the Leica SL video features, as of January 2016)
DXOMARK: "Best-performing Leica to date" (as of January 21, 2016).
Kristen Meister: "Leica SL in the Cold" (as of January 26, 2016)
David Farkas: "A Professional Mirrorless Camera" (as of January 28, 2016).
Bigheadtaco: "Leica SL - Love of Hat or both?" (as of February 10, 2016)
Neil Buchan-Grant: "Location Portraiture with the Leica SL" (as of February 1, 2016)
Morten Albek: "The Leica SL Video Experience" (as of February 11, 2016)
Kirsten Meister: "The Leica SL: Six Month Field Test" (as of June 20, 2016)
Douglas Herr: "Leica SL vs. Sony a7II for Wildlife Photography" (as of June 26, 2016)

 

Leica SL lens reviews:

PC Magazine Review: "Leica Vario-Elmarit-SL 24-90mm f/2.8-4 ASPH" (as of November 2, 2015).
Kristen Meister: "Leica 90-280mm APO-Vario-Elmarit-SL f/2.8-4.0" (as of March 19, 2016).
David Farkas "Leica APO-Vario-Elmarit-SL 90-280mm f/2.8-4 lens review" (as of April 6, 2016).

Homework reading:

Leica SL Typ 601 Manual [English Only PDF - Cleaned out for the German part]
Leica SL Typ 601 Brochure [English PDF]
Leica SL Technical Specifications [English PDF]

 

Video tutorials and how to set up the Leica SL:


By Kristian Dowling (as of November 17, 2015).

 

Leica SL forum news:

L-Camera-User-Forum: Leica SL

 

Video reviews of the new Leica SL 601:

Angela Nicholson/Digital camera World:
"Leica SL Typ 601 - 6 things you need to know"
(as of Oct 21, 2015):

 

 

To be continued ...

Sign up for the newsletter to get the next updates:

 
 

 

 

Advertisement:
I will be doing Kyoto Workshop and a Tokyo Workshop. Read more here.

   
   

 

– Thorsten Overgaard

   

 

Index of Thorsten von Overgaard's user review pages covering Leica M9, Leica M9-P, M-E, Leica M10,
Leica M 240, Leica M-D 262, Leica M Monochrom, M 246  as well as Leica Q and Leica SL:

Leica Digital Camera Reviews by Thorsten Overgaard
Leica M9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20   M9-P
Leica M10
V 1 2 3 4 5                         M10-R M10-P
Leica M 240
P 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44        
Leica M-D 262 1 2                                  
M Monochrom 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
                 
Leica TL2 1 2                                      
Leica SL / SL2 1 2 3 4 5 6                            
Leica Q 1                                          
Leica Q2 1                                          
Leica CL 1 2                                       Books


Thorsten von Overgaard
Thorsten Overgaard's Leica Article Index
Leica M digital cameras:   Leica L digital cameras:
Leica M10   Leica SL
Leica M10-P   Leica SL2
Leica M10-R   Panasonic Lumix S1R
Leica M10-D   Leica TL2
Leica M10 Monochrom   Leica CL
Leica M9 and Leica M-E    
Leica M9-P   Leica R digital cameras:
Leica M9 Monochrom   Leica R8/R9/DMR
Leica M240    
Leica M246 Monochrom   Small Leica mirrorless digital cameras:
Leica MD-262 and Leica M60   Leica D-Lux
    Leica C-Lux
Leica M film cameras:   Leica V-Lux
Leica MP   Leica Q2
Leica M4   Leica Q
    Leica Digilux 3
Leica M lenses:   Leica Digilux 2
Leica 21mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4   Leica Digilux 1
Leica 21mm Leica Super-Elmar-M ASPH f/3.4   Leica Digilux
Leica 21mm Super-Angulon-M f/3.4    
Leica 28mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4   Leica R film cameras:
Leica 35mm Summilux-M ASPH FLE f/1.4 and f/1.4 AA   Leica R8 / R9
Leica 35mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leica R4
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/0.95 FLE   Leica R3 electronic
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M f/1.0   Leicaflex SL / SLmot
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M f/1.2    
7artisans 50mm f/1.1   Leica compact film cameras:
Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH f//1.4   Leica Minilux 35mm film camera
Leica 50mm Summicron-M f/2.0 "rigid" Series II   Leica CM 35mm film camera
Leica 50mm APO-Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0    
Leica 50mm Elmar-M f/2.8 collapsible   Leica R lenses:
Leica 75mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/1.25   Leica 19mm Elmarit-R f/2.8
7artisans 75mm f/1.25   Leica 35mm Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leica 75mm Summilux-M f/1.4   Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0
Leica 90mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.5   Leica 60mm Macro-Elmarit f/2.8
Leica 90mm APO-Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leica 80mm Summilux-R f/1.4
Leica 90mm Summarit-M f/2.5   Leica 90mm Summicron-R f/2.0
Leica 90mm Elmarit f/2.8   Leica 180mm R lenses
Leitz 90mm Thambar f/2.2   Leica 250mm Telyt-R f/4.0
    Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8
Leitz Cine lenses:   Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leica Cine lenses from Leitz Cine Wetzlar   Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/4.0
     
History and overview:   Leica S digital medium format:
Leica History   Leica S1 digital scan camera
Leica Definitions   Leica S2
Leica Lens Compendium   Leica S
Leica Camera Compendium    
The Solms factory and Leica Wetzlar Campus   "Magic of Light" 4K Television Channel
    Thorsten von Overgaard YouTube Channel
     
Photography Knowledge   Thorsten Overgaard books and education:
Calibrating computer screen for photographers   Thorsten Overgaard Masterclasses & Workshops
Which Computer for Photographers?   Lightroom Survival Kit (Classic)
What is Copyright? Advice for Photogarphers   Lightroom Presets
Synchronizing Large Photo Archive with iPhone   Capture One Survival Kit
Quality of Light   "Finding the Magic of Light" eBook (English)
Lightmeters   "Die Magie des Lichts Finden" eBook (German)
Color meters for accurate colors (White Balance)   "The Moment of Impact in Photography" eBook
White Balance & WhiBal   "Freedom of Photographic Expression" eBook
Film in Digital Age   "Composition in Photography" eBook
Dodge and Burn   "A Little Book on Photography" eBook
All You Need is Love   "After the Tsunami" Free eBook
How to shoot Rock'n'Roll   The Overgaard New Inspiration Extension Course I
X-Rite   The Overgaard Photography Extension Course
The Origin of Photography    
Hasselblad/Imacon Flextight 35mm and 6x6 scanner    
Leica OSX folder icons    
     
Leica Photographers:    
Jan Grarup   Riccis Valladares
Henri Cartier-Bresson   Christopher Tribble
Birgit Krippner   Martin Munkácsi
John Botte   Jose Galhoz
 
Douglas Herr   Milan Swolf
Vivian Maier  
Morten Albek    
Byron Prukston   Richard Avedon
     
The Story Behind That Picture:   Learn with Thorsten Overgaard:
More than 200 articles by Thorsten Overgaard   Leica M9 Masterclass (video course)
Thorsten Overgaard Workshop Schedule   Leica M10 Masterclass (video course)
    Leica M240 Masterclass (video course)
Leica Forums and Blogs:   Leica Q Masterclass (video course)
Leica M10 / M240 / M246 User Forum on Facebook   Leica Q2 Masterclass (video course)
Jono Slack   Leica TL2 Quick Start (video course)
Sean Reid Review (reviews)   Street Photography Masterclass (video course)
Heinz Richter's Leica Barnack Berek Blog    
I-Shot-It photo competition   Thorsten von Overgaard Free Online Masterclass
Connect with Thorsten Overgaard:   Thorsten von Overgaard Academy Online
Thorsten Overgaard on Instagram   Overgaard Workshops & Masterclasses
Join the Thorsten Overgaard Mailing List   Overgaard One-on-One Training
Thorsten Overgaard on Twitter   Thorsten Overgaard Archive Licencing
Thorsten Overgaard on Facebook   Commisioning Thorsten Overgaard Worldwide
 
 
The Von Overgaard Gallery Store:   Von Overgaard Ventilated lens shades:
Ventilated Shades "Always Wear a Camera"   Ventilated Shade for Current 35mm Summilux FLE
Camera Straps "Always Wear a Camera"   Ventilated Shade E46 for old Leica 35mm/1.4 lens
The Von M Camera Bag   Ventilated Shade for Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH
The Von L Camera Bag   Ventilated Shade E43 for older 50mm Summilux
The Von Mini Messenger Walkabout Camera Bag   Ventilated Shade for 35mm Summicron-M ASPH
The Von 24hr Jetsetter Travel Bag   Ventilated Shade for older 35mm/f2 lenses
Desk Blotters 'Always Wear a Camera"   Ventilated Shade E39 for 50mm Summicron lenses
Software for Photography   Ventilated Shade for Leica 28mm Summilux
Signed Prints   Ventilated Shade for current 28mm Elmarit-M
Computer Shade for MacBook Pro   Ventilated Shade for older 28mm Elmarti-M
Video Masterclasses   Ventilated Shade E49 for 75mm Summicron
Photography Books by Thorsten Overgaard   ventilated Shade E55 for 90mm Summicron
Home School Photography Extension Courses   Ventilated Shade for 28mm Summaron
  Ventilated Shade for 24mm Elmarit
    Ventilated Shade E60 for 50mm Noctilux and 75/1.4
Gallery Store Specials   Ventilated Shade for Leica Q and Leica Q2
 

 

Above: A portrait of a Ferruginous Hawk that had been rescued after an injury. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm APO-Telyt-R f/4.0. © 2008-2016 Douglas Herr. Buy as a print here



 

Leica logo

LEItz CAmera = LEICA
Founded 1849 in Wetzlar, Germany.

Leica SL Typ 601 "Max"
official website at Leica Camera AG

Leica SL latest firmware

Digital Camera Raw 6.18
(December 2015; adds compability to Leica SL 601)

 

 

Douglas Herr by Kelsey M. Herr
Douglas Herr

With formal training in life sciences, Douglas Herr has been photographing wildlife since 1970. Seeking a partnership with the animal, Doug spends the time needed to allow the animal to become comfortable in his presence. This allows the animal to relax and often allows the use of shorter lenses than is customary for wildlife photography which in turn allows in the photograph a sense of the animal's preferred habitat.

Now a resident of Sacramento County California, Doug has lived and worked in several US National Parks and spends his time in whatever wild lands are close to home. His photographs have appeared in many books, calendars and magazines worldwide including Audubon, Pacific Discovery, Wildbird and Leica Fotografie International, and prints of his photographs are in private collections on most continents.

www.wildlightphoto.com

(Photo by © Kelsey M. Herr).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also visit:

Overgaard Photography Workshops
Von Overgaard Gallery Store
Ventilated Shades by Overgaaard
Leather Camera Straps
Camea Bags
Calfskin Camera Pouches
iPad and Computer Clutches
Leather Writing Pads
Books by Thorsten Overgaard
Street Photography Masterclass
Leica Definitions
Leica History
Leica Lens Compendium
Leica Camera Compendium
Leica 21mm Super-Elmar-M ASPH f/3.4
Leica 21mm Super-Angulon f/3.4
Leica 21mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4

Leica 28mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
Leica 35mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
Leica 35mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0
Leica 40mm Summicron-C f/2.0
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/0.95
Leica 50mm APO-Summicron-M f/2.0
Leica 50mm Summicron-M f/2.0
Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
7artisans 50mm f/1.1
Leica 75mm Summilux-M f/1.4
Leica 75mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/1.25
7artisans 75mm f/1.25
Leica 90mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0
Leica 90mm Summilux f/1.5
Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leitz Cine lenses
Leica Digilux 2

Leica M10
Leica M10-P

Leica M10-R
Leica M10-D
Pixii Digital Rangefinder
Leica M9, M9-P and Leica ME
Leica M 240
Leica M 240 for video
Leica M 262
Leica M-D 262
Leica M Monochrom
Leica M 246 Monochrom

Leica SL
Leica SL2
Panasonic Lumix S1R
Leica R9 dSLR
Leica Q
Leica Q2
Leica CL
Leica TL2
Leica Sofort
Leica S digital medium format
Leica X
Leica D-Lux

Leica C-Lux

Leica V-Lux

Leica Digilux

Leica Digilux 1

Leica Digilux Zoom

Leica Digilux 4.3

Leica Digilux 3

Light metering
White Balance for More Beauty
Color Meters

Screen Calibration
Which computer to get
Sync'ing photo archive to iPhone
Lightroom Survival Kit
Lightroom Presets by Overgaard
Capture One Survival Kit

Capture One Styles by Overgaard
Signed Original Prints by von Overgaard
The Story Behind That Picture
"On The Road With von Overgaard"

Von Overgaard Masterclasses:
M10 / M9 / M240 / Q / Q2 / TL2 /

 

 


Thorsten Overgaard
Thorsten von Overgaard is a Danish born multiple award-winning AP photographer, known for his writings about photography and Leica cameras. He travels to more than 25 countries a year, photographing and teaching workshops which cater to Leica enthusiasts. Some photos are available as signed editions via galleries or online. For specific photography needs, contact Thorsten Overgaard via e-mail.

You can follow him at his television channel magicoflight.tv and his on-line classroom at overgaard.com

Feel free to e-mail to thorsten@overgaard.dk for
advice, ideas or improvements.

 

 

 

     
Buy eBooks by
Thorsten Overgaard
     
"A Little Book on Photography"   "A Little Book on Photography"
Add to Cart  

Add to Cart

     
"The Leica Q Know-All eBook"  
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
"Finding the Magic of Light"   "Composition in Photography - The Photographer as Storyteller"
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
"The Freedom of Photographic Expression"   "The Moment of Emptional Impact"
Add to Cart  

Add to Cart

     

The Portrait Book
How to Make People Beautifu
    Add to Cart
     

Preorder: The Noctilux Masterclass
    Add to Cart
     
Extension Courses
     
The New Photography Extension Course"   "New Inspiration Extension Course"
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
"Lightroom Survival Kit 7"
Lightroom
Survival Kit
  "Capture One Pro Survival Kit"
Capture One Survival Kit
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
Video Classes
     


Workflow
Masterclass

  Street Photo
Masterclass

Add to Cart

  Add to Cart
     
     


Leica Q2
Masterclass

  "Leica Q Video Masterclass"
Leica Q
Masterclass

Add to Cart

  Add to Cart
     
"Leica TL2 Quick-Start Video Course"
Leica TL2
Quick-Start
Video Course
  "Leica Q Video Masterclass"
Preorder:
Leica M9
Masterclass
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
"Leica M10 Video Masterclass"   "Leica M 240 Video Masterclass"
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
Lightroom Presets
     
Lightroom Presets Leica M10   Lightroom Presets Leica M9
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
Lightroom Presets Leica TL2   Lightroom Presets Leica Q
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
Lightroom Dutch Painters Presets by Thorsten Overgaard   Leica Presets for Lightroom by Thorsten Overgaard
Add to Cart   Add to Cart
     
"Hollywood Film Presets"
Add to Cart    
     
Hemingway Presets for Lightroom by Thorsten Overgaard
Add to Cart    
     

201 Lightroom Presets
+ 4 Export Presets
Add to Cart    
     
Capture One Styles:
     
    Leica Styles for Capture One by Thorsten Overgaard
    Add to Cart
     

17 Capture One Styles
Add to Cart    

 


 

 


 

 






 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 
           
  · © Copyright 1996-2020 · Thorsten von Overgaard


 

© 1996 - 2021 Thorsten von Overgaard. All rights reserved.

 

Web Analytics