Join mailing list by writing your e-mail and hit return on your keyboard:
overgaard.dk contact HOME

 
 
Leica SL Typ 601 vs. Sony A7II for wildlife photography
      Thosten von Overgaard on Facebook Thorsten von Overgaard on Twitter Thorsten von Overgaard on Instagram Thorsten von Overgaard on Google+ Thorsten von Overgaard on Leica Fotopark Thorsten von Overgaard on LinkedIn Thorsten von Overgaard on Polaroid BlipFoto Pinterest Thorsten von Overgaard on Flickr Thorsten Overgaard on YouTube Thorsten Overgaard video on Vimeo Thorsten Overgaard on Tumblr Thorsten von Overgaard on Exposure Thorsten von Overgaard on Behance Thorsten von Overgaard on 500px
Bookmark and Share Clip to Evernote
leica.overgaard.dk    
Leica M Digital Rangefinder Camera - Leica SL Typ 601 "Max"
 
A portrait of a Ferruginous Hawk that had been rescued after an injury. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm APO-Telyt-R f/4.0. © 2008-2016 Douglas Herr.
   
 
   

Leica SL Typ 601 - Page 5

Index of Thorsten von Overgaard's user review pages covering Leica M9, Leica M9-P, M-E, Leica M10,
Leica M 240, Leica M-D 262, Leica M Monochrom, M 246  as well as Leica Q and Leica SL:

Leica M9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 M9-P   Links
Leica M10
P                                        
Leica M 240
P 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44         What if?
Leica M-D 262 1 2                        
Leica Monochrom 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
A
29
B
29
C
29
D
               
Leica Q 1                            
Leica SL 1 2 3 4 5                               Books

 

The Birdman of Sacramento takes on the Leica SL Typ 601

By: Thorsten Overgaard. June 27, 2016. Latest edit on July 12, 2016.

Add to Flipboard Magazine.

 

Douglas Herr is well known amongst us who used to use the Leica R system back when it was slide film and when the DMR Digital Back came out (with a 10MP CCD-sensormade, made by Leica Camera AG with Imacon and Kodak)


Caribou, Denali National Park, Alaska. Leicaflex with Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 on film. © 1981-2016 Douglas Herr.
35 years ago: Caribou, Denali National Park, Alaska. Leicaflex with Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 on film. © 1981-2016 Douglas Herr.

 

     
 

Introduction

Douglas Herr is my personal hero and foundation for everything Leica R. He so much symbolizes the core Leica R user that he would be the first person to ask what he thought of the Leica SL system.

When I realized Leica Camera AG didn’t send him a Leica SL to test, I decided to send him my own Leica SL for some months.

“Go nuts with it, and don’t be the slightest worried about banging it up. It’s already well used and has marks. It’s been in rain, snow, heat and sand,” I told him back in February.

When the camera returned after four months, I was eager to learn what his take was on it. I asked if he would care to write an article, and here it is.

Enjoy!

 
 

- Thorsten Overgaard

 

 

 

 

The Leica SL vs. the Sony A7II for wildlife photography

By: Douglas Herr. June 27, 2016.

 

I’ve had the good fortune to spend some quality time with Thorsten’s Leica SL Type 601 and compare it with my current camera, the Sony a7II. 

Selective reading of the two cameras’ spec sheets might suggest they’re quite similar: 24 MP, Electronic ViewFinder (EVF) and the fact that many lenses from legacy camera systems can be adapted to fit. However after several months comparing the two cameras they’re clearly very different.

 

     
 
 
     
Steller's Jay (Cyanocitta stelleri), Washoe County, Nevada. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-Telyt-R f/6.8 and Leica APO-Extender-R 1.4X. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr. 

 

Background

I feel it’s important to understand the reviewer when reading an equipment review. My primary photographic subjects are wildlife and I prefer to avoid automation whenever practical: I use manual exposure modes and manual focus exclusively. Call it a quirk; call it insanity, that’s how I use a camera. 

If you would like to see how this all works for me visit my website www.wildlightphoto.com.

 

Wildlife lenses

The lenses I currently use were made by Canon (Canon FD 500mm f/4.5 L and Canon FD 300mm f/4.0 L), Nikon (Nikkor 55mm f/3.5 Micro-Nikko AI) and Leica (Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R, Leica 100mm f/2.8 APO-Macro-Elmarit-R and Leica 60mm f/2.8 Macro-Elmarit-R).

The camera body is basically a digital back for my lenses. The minimum I require of it is a good viewfinder, a good sensor and a means to set exposure and focus. Mirrorless cameras such as the Sony a7-series and the Leica SL fit these requirements quite well. I began using the Sony a7II about a year ago after 45 years with SLR cameras.

The Electronic ViewFinder (EVF) took some getting used to but now I wouldn’t go back to an SLR. 

There’s never any calibration discrepancy between the image viewing and focusing plane or the image capture plane (the film or sensor).

The viewfinder brightness can compensate for ambient light and lens aperture, the EVF can be configured to show a live histogram, and all of my lenses can be used on the one and same camera by using simple adapters.

My previous camera was the Leica R8 with the Digital-Module-R (DMR), which was first available in 2005. It served me well but it had put on a lot of weight (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it). The batteries had been unavailable for quite some time and I had nightmares about dropping one off a cliff or in a lake, the 10MP sensor’s linear resolution was beginning to limit the market ability of my photos to clients who expect more, and only my Leica lenses were fully usable on it.

 


   
  Ash-throated Flycatcher, Sacramento County California. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-telyt-R f/6.8. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Ash-throated Flycatcher, Sacramento County California. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 560mm APO-telyt-R f/6.8. © 2006-2016 Douglas Herr.

 

My general impressions of the Leica SL

The Leica SL is a very solid, well-made camera. It's significantly heavier than the a7II, but it fits the hand extremely well. Especially when wearing gloves (which I cannot say for the a7II).

The viewfinder is outstanding, with one complaint, which I'll get to. The camera overall is very responsive and reasonably quiet. The files have rich full colors and will take a lot of abuse without falling apart. The noise at higher ISO settings is manageable. And by the way, the noise pattern, unlike the Sony a7II, is quite pleasing.

The Sony a7II is a sturdy, reliable camera. The Leica SL is in an entirely different class of construction: It will take a beating that would destroy many other cameras, and it would still get up next morning and work like it was nobody’s business.

The SL has simple, purposeful controls. The thumb joystick is delightful (but user-programmability of its acceleration function would improve it) and the other buttons, dials and such are readily at hand when needed and they stay out of the way when not needed. Very impressive!

 

 

Testing the Leica SL 601 camera

My test photos are not intended to demonstrate the camera's artistic sensibilities. I'm just testing technical performance.

One of the Leica DMR's strengths is the robustness of the raw files, their ability to be manipulated, stomped on and tortured and not whimper. Pulling detail out of shadows is one of my tests; this robustness of the 10MP Leica DMR files saved my butt on more than one occasion, for example:



   
  Leporidae. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Leporidae. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I enlisted the hummingbirds in my yard in the test and made some backlit photos exposed for highlights, then used Adobe Camera Raw's 'fill light' function to bring up the color and detail of the bird's gorget (the red feathers). Here's how the Leica SL did (cropped to about 1/3 of the original file):

 


   
  Anna's Hummingbird. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Anna's Hummingbird. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I'm impressed.

 

Camera responsiveness - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

Responsiveness is another test. My Sony a7II is quite responsive when I enable the electronic first curtain feature, but with my non-native lenses this feature's practical utility is limited to shutter speeds not faster than 1/1000 sec.

To test the Leica SL I used the Ruby-crowned Kinglet that has taken a liking to my hummingbird feeder. Kinglets are hyperactive bits of fluff and this particular kinglet was jumping from a twig, fluttering up to the feeder for a sip then back to the twig. The entire process takes less than a second.

I wanted to see how much total lag there was between the viewfinder, my reaction timing, and the shutter lag. I pre-focused on the feeder tube and watched the viewfinder, pressing the shutter release when the bird entered the image area. The camera is in single-shot drive mode, and no crop:

 


   
  Ruby-crowned Kinglet. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Ruby-crowned Kinglet. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I'm impressed.

 

Real-time exposure feedback - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

So now I get to the 0.5% that I'm not thrilled with. The camera's viewfinder defaults to automatic brightness mode, with 'exposure simulation' mode enabled with a half-press of the shutter release or by pressing the exposure simulation mode button on the front of the camera. The viewfinder reverts to the default automatic brightness mode after each exposure.

What were they thinking? One of the really huge advantages of the EVF is real-time exposure feedback. Automatic viewfinder brightness in these scenarios makes the bird go so dark I can't see any detail for focusing or for catching the desired posture:

 


   
  Vermilion Flycatcher. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Vermilion Flycatcher. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Red-shouldered Hawk. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Red-shouldered Hawk. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

It makes the bird go alternately too bright or too dark when I shift the camera's field of view left or right:

 


   
  Red-breasted Sapsucker. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Red-breasted Sapsucker. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Very distracting, breaks my concentration, makes focusing and seeing what the bird is doing very difficult. In polite company I'd call the automatic viewfinder brightness feature an 'epic fail'. It can't be disabled. It can be turned off in the Leica M 240, so why not the Leica SL? 

Re-enabling the exposure preview mode after every exposure reminds me of the days before SLRs had instant-return mirrors. This one feature is a deal-breaker for me.

I've set up the Sony a7II for full-time exposure preview (Sony calls it Setting Effect: ON). This way I can use the entire viewfinder as an exposure meter in manual mode. It makes spot, full-field and matrix modes look like primitive relics of obsolete technology, and IMHO is among the really big advantages of an EVF.

Leica needs to do a firmware update to fix a few other issues, so I hope they fix this and SOON! Needless to say I've e-mailed Leica about this feature.

 

Stabilization - Leica SL vs. Sony a7II

My other big complaint about the SL is that there is no sensor stabilization.

I'm smitten with the Sony a7II's sensor stabilization. I can use any of my old, affordable lenses, as well as the spectacular Leica-R APO lenses, stabilized. It's allowed me to push a lot of boundaries while my muscles have weakened with age and abuse, and are no longer as steady as they used to be.

For example in good light, when I use a big Series 5 Gitzo tripod, my Canon FD 500mm L is brilliant on the Leica SL.

Gorgeous colors, easy to focus, and with software correction for lateral chromatic aberration it's sharp, sharp, sharp, sharp, sharp!

 


   
  Green-winged Teal. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Green-winged Teal. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

On the other hand, using the lens on the Sony a7II, I can brace the lens against my truck's window frame in dim rainy light with wind shaking the truck and the images are nearly as good as with the Leica SL in good light on the Gitzo tripod.

The Sony's colors aren't as rich, the files don't take as much abuse, but they're sharp in conditions that don't work for the Leica SL.

 


   
  Northern Harrier. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Northern Harrier. Sony a7II. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Leica SL high ISO

I can partially compensate with the Leica SL's excellent high-ISO capabilities (ISO 3200 in this case), which allow me to use a faster shutter speed. This is about 1/4 of the original 24MP image:

 


   
 
 
     

Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

This is a 100% crop of the file with no sharpening, re-sizing or noise reduction:

 


   
  Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

100% crop of the file, Red-breasted Sapsucker. Leica SL 601. 3200 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

I invite you to draw your own conclusions, but to my eye the noise pattern in the SL's files is much more pleasing than in the Sony a7II's files at the same ISO.

On the other hand ... the Sony's stabilization makes magnified focusing with the 500mm lens much easier, and using fast shutter speeds on the SL reduces my options for using a slower shutter speed to show rain streaks like I can with the Sony (i.e., the Northern Harrier photo above).

 

         
 

Buy the best-selling eBook
"Finding The Magic of Light"
by Thorsten Overgaard

 
         
 

"Finding the Magic of Light" by Thorsten Overgaard

Order now - Instant delivery.

(Note: If you bought the first edition of this book, this new edition is free. Simply send an e-mail for your free update).

 

In this easy to read and apply eBook,
Thorsten Overgaard takes you on a journey to see, understand and simply use light.
"One of the most important ways to get an aesthetic and pleasant picture is to
find the good light."

"Finding the Magic of Light"
eBook for computer, Kindle and iPad

Only $47 - NEW 2nd EDITION - 87 Pages.Also available in German -->

     
 

Buy Now

Add to Cart

Instant Delivery

 
     

View Cart

 
 

 

"I've already read two of your books and it goes without saying that you "walk the talk! I'm very happy that I stumbled upon you and hope some day to attend a live class with you."
J. F. (USA)

"I was able to pick up some significant techniques on lighting."
J. M. (Philippines)

"Love your approach to photography,
very refreshing, no B.S."
M. B. (UK)

"Your work is great! I sit down with your eBook on “The Magic of Light”, grab my coffee, read and then open to a new page in my notebook and write! Your work affirms my thoughts on beauty and life. Thank you!"
M. B. (USA)

 

"I found your eBook "Finding the Magic of Light" very inspiring and useful in my own personal development as a keen photographer and have improved my skills already from reading this."
P. B. (Denmark)

"Exactly what I craved. Excellent book.
I plan to attend one of your workshops
this year."
C. S. (Toronto)

"A must have
(particularly useful for street photography)"
A. F. (Spain)

"A great and creatively inspiring read.
Highly recommend it."
L. T. (USA)

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

 

 

 

 

 

Colusa National Wildlife Refuge

I visited Colusa National Wildlife Refuge, north of Sacramento, a target-rich environment. I didn't expect great art from this day's photography so I was not disappointed. I wanted to see how the Leica SL's raw files looked in a context I was familiar with when using the Leica R8 with DMR and the Sony a7II.

In a nutshell, I'm delighted with the raw files. Aside from conversion from .DNG to .jpg, all I did was use a Photoshop curves layer to adjust black point and (infrequently) white point. That's all.

The colors are rich and full with excellent gradation.

Details: I used the Canon FD 500mm L at f/5.6, ISO 400. Manual focus without magnification (is not difficult), and in challenging cases magnification is available at the touch of a button. I'd like to see a firmware update to enable two-step magnification on the joystick, like the bottom left button on the Leica SL has.

The first magnification step is usually more than sufficient for critical manual focus and is easier to track a moving target.

The pictures:

 


   
 
 
     

Green-winged Teal, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge.Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Coot, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge (full detail in blacks and no highlight clipping with full sunlight, a first for this bird!). Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Coot, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge (full detail in blacks and no highlight clipping with full sunlight, a first for this bird!). Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Greater White-fronted Goose, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Greater White-fronted Goose, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

Pintail, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 


   
  American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.
 
     

American Wigeon, Colusa National Wildlife Refuge. Leica SL 601 with Canon FD 500mm L. 400 ISO. © 2016 Douglas Herr.

 

Adapter stack and shading

The adapter stack (Canon FD > Leica M and Leica M > Leica SL) causes some corner shading when using a long lens like this Canon 500mm L and with R long-focus lenses like the Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8 and the Leica 560mm Telyt-R f/6.8.

The small diameter of the M mount in the middle of this stack is the culprit. This was a problem long before the Leica SL when using Leitz Visoflex-mount Telyts on Leica R cameras. I expect the promised R Adapter SL will solve this problem by eliminating the M mount.

 

Leica 180mm APO-Telyt-R f/3.4 on the Leica SL Type 601
Leica 180mm APO-Telyt-R f/3.4 on the Leica SL Type 601 via Leica T/SL to M adapter and Leica M to R adapter. © Thorsten Overgaard 2015-2016.

 

 

What the Leica SL can do that Sony can't touch

The Leica SL camera is quick and responsive at all shutter speeds. For those who were writing software in the 1980s it’s like the difference between optimized assembly language and interpreted BASIC.

I can make the Sony a7II adequately responsive by enabling electronic first shutter curtain but with my adapted mechanical lenses it's good only up to 1/1000 sec.

At faster shutter speeds in this mode the Sony produces uneven exposures. The Leica SL is quick, quiet and responsive at every shutter speed. The Sony’s electronic first shutter curtain function can be switched on or off only by diving into the inscrutable menus. It can’t be assigned to a function button.

 

Lightroom Survival Kit

 

The Leica SL's LCD doesn't show nose prints. I deliberately tried to make nose prints. Couldn't do it.

There are numerous little differences that come down to personal preferences, for example the Leica SL allows me to change shutter speeds while in magnified view, with a dial that's almost a real shutter speed dial.

The Sony's dial moves the magnified box. The Leica SL allows the user to change the ‘direction’ of the shutter speed and aperture controls. The Sony allows the user to choose which dial performs either function.

The Sony leaves a lot more stuff in my wallet. Aside from the purchase price, spare batteries don't cost $250 each and I can walk into an electronics retailer like Fry's to buy them.

I'm struck by a comparison of the Sony a7II with the Canon FD 300mm f/4 L and the Leica SL with the 280mm f/4 APO-Telyt-R.

 

The TIE HER UP "Rock'n'Roll Chain" black leather strap for the Leica SL that comes in 100cm and 125cm length.
The TIE HER UP "Rock'n'Roll Chain" black leather strap for the Leica SL that comes in 100cm and 125cm length.


Either lens can be used on either camera but this is an extreme for illustrative purposes: The Sony a7II with the Canon FD 300 L is a decent camera; the lens today (with digital image processing not available in 1990), is better than when it was new. It's not a Leica APO-Telyt, but quite good. The Sony a7II with Canon 300L is about 2 kg (4 pounds). The Leica SL with Leica 280mm APO f/4.0 is about 3 kg, 50% heavier than the Sony a7II combo. 

Did I mention the Sony leaves a lot more stuff in my wallet? There's an order of magnitude difference in the entry ticket. An order of magnitude!

Is there an order of magnitude difference in the output? An order of magnitude difference in image sales potential?

 

 

Given the dismal sales lately for photography I'd have to answer an emphatic NO to the last question (i.e., zero X 10 still equals zero), which leaves the subjective and unquantifiable differences.

Not to mention being able to say "oh shucks" and head over to eBay if I drop the camera in the ocean instead of panicking about the expense of repairs and the months of downtime as I do when my beloved Leica 280mm f/4 APO develops a sticky aperture.

Both of these cameras have numerous capabilities that I haven't begun to try, but for my uses the Leica SL isn't quite "there", and I say this as a Leica user for the last 35 years.

A firmware update with an option to make the 'exposure preview' mode sticky would be a serious threat to my wallet; with this firmware update and a hardware upgrade with a stabilized sensor … resistance would be futile.

 

My Conclusion

For a first-generation product it's outstanding and with the two fixes I've mentioned I'd be ecstatic. 

As it is when I grab a camera to head out the door it's most likely the Sony a7II for the lower weight, the stabilized sensor, the exposure preview viewfinder and the much lower worry about loss or damage. And I’ll put up with the fiddly buttons and inscrutable menus, and curse the 1/1000 sec shutter speed limit on my way out the door.

For those using any of the auto-exposure modes and either of the Leica SL's two excellent native lenses, the biggest obstacle to loving this camera could be the initial cash outlay. Once my two objections are fixed I’d put up with the weight and find a way to make it happen.

 

– Douglas Herr
wildlightphoto.com

 

 

     
 

Order prints from Douglas Herr to decorate your house or office and impress your younger nephews or grandchildren with some real wildlife: http://www.wildlightphoto.com/ordering.html  

 
     

 


Advertisement:
Join the "New York in Monochrom Masterclass" if you would like to work with monochrome images. I'm also doing an Monochrom Masterclass in Paris.


Leica SL vs. Sony a7II retail prices

Leica SL Typ 601 - $7,450 from BH PHOTO / Amazon 

Sony a7II $1,698 from BH PHOTO / Amazon

 

 

To be continued ...

Sign up for my free newsletter to stay in the loop for more on the Leica SL.

 

 

Reviews of the Leica SL Typ 601

Sean Reid Reviews: "Leica SL 601" (as of October 20, 2015).
Jono Slack: "Field Report (Three Weeks in Creta" (at GetDPI as of October 20, 2015).
Ming Thein: "The 2015 Leica SL (Typ 601) and lenses" (as of Oct 20, 2015).
Kristian Dowling: "Leica SL (Typ 601) Professional Mirrorless Camera Review" (as of Oct 20, 2015).
DPreview: "Hands-on with Leica SL (Typ 601)" (as of October 20, 2015).
CNET: "Review" (as of October 20, 2015)
PC Mag: "Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
British Journal of Photography: "Full Specs" (as of Oct 20, 2015)
Nick Rains: Review (as of October 20, 2015).
PetaPixel: "Mirrorless War" (as of October 20, 2015).
Sean Reid Reviews: "Leica M and R on Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Steve Huff: "My thoughts on the Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Jay Cassario: "Leica SL at weddings" (as of October 20, 2015).
Amateur Photographer: "Interview with Stephan Schulz on the Leica SL" (as of October 20, 2015).
Luminous Landscape: "What It Is and What It Isn’t" (as of October 22, 2015).
Husam Mneimneh: "The Real Competitor" (as of October 22, 2015)
Sean Reid "Some Thoughts on the new Leica SL" (as of October 22, 2015)
Erwin Puts: "The New Leica SL" (as of October 22, 2015)
Sean Reid: "35 mm rangefinder lenses on Leica SL and Leica M 240" (as of Oct 26, 2015)
DPReview: "Studio tests and samples: Leica SL (beta)" (as of October 28, 2015)
ClubSNAP: "Interview with Andreas Kaufmann and Oliver Kaltner" (as of October 28, 2015)
Sean Reid "Leica SL and Leica M 240 with Leica 35/1.4 Summilux-R and the Leitz Wetzlar 28/2.8 Elmarit-R" (as of November 16, 2015)
Steve Huff: "Leica SL Hands On - Video and More" (as of November 17, 2015).
Kristian Dowling: "Leica SL (Typ 601) One Month User Experience" (as of November 22, 2015).
Erwin Puts: "First of three articles on the Leica SL Type 601" (as of November 26, 2015).
Jono Slack: "The Leica SL - A Field report"
Jono Slack: "Leica SL in Venice"
Erwin Puts: "The Leica SL, part 2" (as of December 2015 on ISO speed and dynamic range)
Joeri van der Kloet: "The Leica SL review" (as of December 19, 2015)
grEGORY simpson - Ultrasomething: "Camera Season - The Leica SL" (as of January 1, 2016)
BH Photo: "Mirrorless Unleashed" (With comments on the Leica SL video features, as of January 2016)
DXOMARK: "Best-performing Leica to date" (as of January 21, 2016).
Kristen Meister: "Leica SL in the Cold" (as of January 26, 2016)
David Farkas: "A Professional Mirrorless Camera" (as of January 28, 2016).
Bigheadtaco: "Leica SL - Love of Hat or both?" (as of February 10, 2016)
Neil Buchan-Grant: "Location Portraiture with the Leica SL" (as of February 1, 2016)
Morten Albek: "The Leica SL Video Experience" (as of February 11, 2016)
Kirsten Meister: "The Leica SL: Six Month Field Test" (as of June 20, 2016)
Douglas Herr: "Leica SL vs. Sony a7II for Wildlife Photography" (as of June 26, 2016)

 

Leica SL lens reviews:

PC Magazine Review: "Leica Vario-Elmarit-SL 24-90mm f/2.8-4 ASPH" (as of November 2, 2015).
Kristen Meister: "Leica 90-280mm APO-Vario-Elmarit-SL f/2.8-4.0" (as of March 19, 2016).
David Farkas "Leica APO-Vario-Elmarit-SL 90-280mm f/2.8-4 lens review" (as of April 6, 2016).

Homework reading:

Leica SL Typ 601 Manual [English Only PDF - Cleaned out for the German part]
Leica SL Typ 601 Brochure [English PDF]
Leica SL Technical Specifications [English PDF]

 

Video tutorials and how to set up the Leica SL:


By Kristian Dowling (as of November 17, 2015).

 

Leica SL forum news:

L-Camera-User-Forum: Leica SL

 

Video reviews of the new Leica SL 601:

Angela Nicholson/Digital camera World:
"Leica SL Typ 601 - 6 things you need to know"
(as of Oct 21, 2015):

 

 

To be continued ...

Sign up for the newsletter to get the next updates:

 

Advertisement:
I will be doing Kyoto Workshop and a Tokyo Workshop. Read more here.

   
   

 

– Thorsten Overgaard

   

 

Index of Thorsten von Overgaard's user review pages covering Leica M9, Leica M9-P, M-E, Leica M10,
Leica M 240, Leica M-D 262, Leica M Monochrom, M 246  as well as Leica Q and Leica SL:

Leica M9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 M9-P   Links
Leica M10
P                                        
Leica M 240
P 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44         What if?
Leica M-D 262 1 2                        
Leica Monochrom 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
A
29
B
29
C
29
D
               
Leica Q 1                            
Leica SL 1 2 3 4 5                               Books


leica.overgaard.dk
Thorsten Overgaard's Leica Article Index
Leica M cameras:   Leica S:
Leica M10   Leica S1 digital scan camera
Leica M Type 240 and M-P Typ240   Leica S2 digital medium format
Leica M-D Typ 262 and Leica M60   Leica S digital medium format
Leica M Monochrom Typ246 digital rangefinder    
Leica M Monochrom MM digital rangefinder   Leica Cine Lenses:
Leica M9 and Leica M-E digital rangefinder   Leica Cine lenses from CW Sonderoptic
Leica M9-Professional digital rangefinder    
Leica M4 35mm film rangefinder    
Leica M lenses:   Leica SLR cameras:
Leica 21mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4   Leica SL 2015 Type 601 mirrorless fullframe
Leica 21mm Leica Super-Elmar-M ASPH f/3.4   Leica R8/R9/DMR film & digital 35mm dSLR cameras
Leica 21mm Super-Angulon-M f/3.4   Leica R10 [cancelled]
Leica 28mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4   Leica R4 35mm film SLR
Leica 35mm Summilux-M ASPH FLE f/1.4 and f/1.4 AA   Leica R3 electronic 35mm film SLR
Leica 35mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leicaflex SL/SL mot 35mm film SLR
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/0.95    
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M f/1.0 and f/1.2   Leica R lenses:
Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH f//1.4   Leica 19mm Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leica 50mm APO-Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leica 35mm Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leitz 50mm Summicron-M f/2.0 "rigid" Series II   Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0
Leica 75mm Summilux-M f/1.4   Leica 60mm Macro-Elmarit f/2.8
Leica 75mm APO-Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leica 80mm Summilux-F f/1.4
Leica 90mm APO-Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0   Leica 90mm Summicron-R f/2.0
Leica 90mm Summarit-M f/2.5   Leica 180mm R lenses
Leica 90mm Elmarit f/2.8   Leica 400mm Telyt-R f/6.8
Leitz 90mm Thambar f/2.2   Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8
    Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/4.0
     
History and overview:   Small Leica cameras:
Leica History   Leica Q full-frame mirrorless
Leica Definitions   Leica Digilux 2 vintage digital rangefinder
Leica Lens Compendium   Leica Digilux 1
Leica Camera Compendium   Leica X
The Solms factory and Leica Wetzlar Campus   Leica Sofort instant camera
    Leica Minilux 35mm film camera
    Leica CM 35mm film camera
     
Photography Knowledge   Thorsten Overgaard books and education:
Calibrating computer screen for photographers   Thorsten Overgaard Masterclasses & Workshops
Quality of Light   Overgaard Lightroom Survival Kit for Lightroom CC/6
Lightmeters   "Finding the Magic of Light" eBook (English)
Color meters for accurate colors (White Balance)   "Die Magie des Lichts Finden" eBook (German)
White Balance & WhiBal   "Composition in Photography" eBook
Film in Digital Age   "The Moment of Impact in Photography" eBook
Dodge and Burn   "Freedom of Photographic Expression" eBook
All You Need is Love    
How to shoot Rock'n'Roll   "After the Tsunami" Free eBook
X-Rite   The Overgaard New Inspiration Extension Course I
The Origin of Photography   The Overgaard Photography Extension Course
Case in Point    
The Good Stuff  
Hasselblad/Imacon Flextight 35mm and 6x6 scanner   "Magic of Light" Television Channel
Leica OSX folder icons   Thorsten von Overgaard YouTube Channel
   
Leica Photographers:  
Jan Grarup   Riccis Valladares
Henri Cartier-Bresson   Christopher Tribble
Birgit Krippner   Martin Munkácsi
John Botte   Jose Galhoz
 
Douglas Herr    
Vivian Maier  
Morten Albek    
Byron Prukston    
     
The Story Behind That Picture:   Thorsten Overgaard on Instagram
More than 100 articles by Thorsten Overgaard   Join the Thorsten Overgaard Mailing List
Thorsten Overgaard Workshop Schedule   Thorsten Overgaard on Twitter
    Thorsten Overgaard on Facebook
Leica Forums and Blogs:    
Leica M240/M246 User Forum on Facebook   Leica Camera AG
The Leica User Forum   Leica Fotopark
Steve Huff Photos (reviews)   The Leica Pool on Flickr
Erwin Puts (reviews)   Eric Kim (blog)
LeicaRumors.com (blog)   Adam Marelli (blog)
Luminous Landscape (reviews)   Jono Slack
Sean Reid Review (reviews)   Shoot Tokyo (blog)
Ken Rockwell (reviews)   Ming Thein (blog)
John Thawley (blog)   I-Shot-It photo competition
   
 
 
The Von Overgaard Gallery Store:    
Hardware for Photography   Von Overgaard Ventilated lens shades:
Software for Photography   Ventilated Shade for Current 35mm Summilux FLE
Signed Prints   Ventilated Shade for older Leica 35mm/1.4 lenses
Mega Size Signed Prints   Ventilated Shade for Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH
Mega Size Signed Limited Prints   Ventilated Shade for older 50mm Summilux (coming)
Medium Size Signed Limited Prints   Ventilated Shade for 35mm Summicron-M ASPH
Small Size Signed Limited Prints   Ventilated Shade for older 35mm/f2 lenses
Commisioning Thorsten Overgaard Worldwide   Ventilated Shade for 50mm Summicron lenses
Thorsten Overgaard Archive Licencing   Ventilated Shade for Leica 28mm Summilux
Vintage Prints   Ventilated Shade for current 28mm Elmarti-M
Photography Books by Thorsten Overgaard   Ventilated Shade for older 28mm Elmarti-M
Home School Photography Extension Courses   Ventilated Shade for 75mm Summicron (coming)
Overgaard Workshops & Masterclasses   ventilated Shade for 90mm Summicron (coming)
Artists Nights   Ventilated Shade for 28mm Summaron (coming)
    Ventilated Shade for 24mm Elmarit (coming)
Gallery Store Specials   Ventilated Shade for 50mm Noctilux (coming)
 

 

Above: A portrait of a Ferruginous Hawk that had been rescued after an injury. Leica R8/DMR with Leica 280mm APO-Telyt-R f/4.0. © 2008-2016 Douglas Herr. Buy as a print here



 

Leica logo

LEItz CAmera = LEICA
Founded 1849 in Wetzlar, Germany.

Leica SL Typ 601 "Max"
official website at Leica Camera AG

Leica SL latest firmware

Digital Camera Raw 6.18
(December 2015; adds compability to Leica SL 601)

 

 

Douglas Herr by Kelsey M. Herr
Douglas Herr

With formal training in life sciences, Douglas Herr has been photographing wildlife since 1970. Seeking a partnership with the animal, Doug spends the time needed to allow the animal to become comfortable in his presence. This allows the animal to relax and often allows the use of shorter lenses than is customary for wildlife photography which in turn allows in the photograph a sense of the animal's preferred habitat.

Now a resident of Sacramento County California, Doug has lived and worked in several US National Parks and spends his time in whatever wild lands are close to home. His photographs have appeared in many books, calendars and magazines worldwide including Audubon, Pacific Discovery, Wildbird and Leica Fotografie International, and prints of his photographs are in private collections on most continents.

www.wildlightphoto.com

(Photo by © Kelsey M. Herr).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also visit:

Overgaard Photography Workshops
Von Overgaard Gallery Store
Von Overgaard Ventilated Shades
Thorsten Overgaard Books
Leica Definitions
Leica History
"Photographer For Sale"
Leica Lens Compendium
Leica Camera Compendium
Leica 21mm Super-Elmar-M ASPH f/3.4
Leica 21mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4

Leica 28mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
Leica 35mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
Leica 35mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0
Leica 50mm Noctilux-M ASPH f/0.95
Leica 50mm APO-Summicron-M f/2.0
Leica 50mm Summicron-M f/2.0
Leica 50mm Summilux-M ASPH f/1.4
Leica 75mm Summilux-M f/1.4
Leica 90mm Summicron-M ASPH f/2.0
Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8
Leica Cine lenses from CW Sonderoptic
Leica Digilux 2

Leica M9, M9-P and Leica ME
Leica M 240
Leica M 240 Video
Leica M 262
Leica M-D 262
Leica M Monochrom
Leica M 246 Monochrom

Leica SL full-frame mirrorless
Leica Q
Leica Sofort
Leica S digital medium format
Leica X
Leica R9 and R8 SLR with digital back
"On The Road With von Overgaard"
Light metering
White Balance for More Beauty
Color Meters

Screen Calibration
Lightroom Survival Kit
The Story Behind That Picture


Thorsten Overgaard
Thorsten von Overgaard is a Danish writer and photographer, specializing in portrait photography and documentary photography, known for writings about photography and as an educator. Some photos are available as signed editions via galleries or online. For specific photography needs, contact Thorsten Overgaard via e-mail.

Feel free to e-mail to thorsten@overgaard.dk for
advice, ideas or improvements.

 

 

 


Buy eBooks by
Thorsten Overgaard

 

Leica Q Masterclass
eBook + Video Course
Leica Q Video Course

"Leica Q Masterclass" eBook
"Leica Q Masterclass" Video Course
+ Leica Q Presets for Lightroom

You save 30% on buying as bundle compared to buying the individual items. Video Masterclass is delivered instantly. eBook and LR Presets in a few weeks.

Buy Now. Only $298

Add to Cart

"The Freedom
of Photographic Expression"

For eBook for iPad, Kindle
and computer. 268 pages

Only $148.

Add to Cart

Buy now. Instant delivery.

"Finding the Magic of Light"
New Version with +30 pages.
eBook for iPad, Kindle and computer

Only $47.

Add to Cart

Bestseller
Buy now. Instant delivery.
Also available in German -->

"Composition in Photography"
- The Photographer as Storyteller

Preorder today. Only $148

Add to Cart

Leica M-D 262 Masterclass with Thorsten von Overgaard

"Leica M-D 262 Masterclass"
eBook with LR Presets

Release date: Februry 20, 2017
For eBook for iPad, Kindle
and computer.

The eBook comes with
Thorsten Overgaard's presets
for Lightroom, specially made
for the Leica M-D 262 files.

Only $198.

Add to Cart

Preorder now.

The Thorsten Overgaard New Extension Course 2016

The Thorsten Overgaard New Extension Course 2016

Only $798
More info

Add to Cart

Buy now. Instant delivery.
100% satisfaction or money back.

Lightroom Survival Kit

How to survive and master Lightroom
so you can get your photographs made.
My accumulated experience
on workflow, storage and editing
in one essential package.
Lightroom 2 to Lightroom 6 tutorials
plus Photoshop and
Media Pro 1 tutorials.

Only $498

Add to Cart

Buy now. Instant delivery.
100% satisfaction or money back.

The New Inspiration
Extension Course

Only $798

Add to Cart

Buy now. Instant delivery.
100% satisfaction or money back.

 


 

 


 

 






 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 

Photo seminars Berlin Copenhagen and Hong Kong

 
           
  · © Copyright 1996-2017 · Thorsten von Overgaard


 

© 1996 - 2017 Thorsten von Overgaard. All rights reserved

 

Web Analytics